The Publishing Triangle presents ten awards annually, tied to a calendar year. Finalists in our seven competitive categories, for the best queer books of 2020, will be announced in March 2021. All winners will be honored later in the spring (date to be announced).

We present seven awards for the best books of the year. They are the Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction; the Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction; the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry; the Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry; the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction; the Publishing Triangle Award for Trans and Gender-Variant Literature; and, in conjunction our longtime partner the Ferro-Grumley Foundation, the Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBTQ Fiction. Each of the winners receives $1000.

In addition, we honor one LGBTQ author annually with the Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement (a $3000 prize) and we also present the Betty Berzon Emerging Writer Award ($1500).

Finally, we give out the Publishing Triangle Leadership Award, which honors the contributions of those who are not writers to LGBTQ literature and letters ($500).

For many years, the Robert Chesley Playwriting Awards were also presented at our annual awards ceremony, and for historical purposes we maintain a list of winners.

Information and updates about the awards program can be found in our News section as we calendar through the program cycle each year. The call for submissions is generally made in September or early October, with a submission deadline in early December; nominees are announced in March and the winners are honored at an awards ceremony in late April or early May. You should be able to find out additional information via our News pages, but if you have questions about the awards program, please write