The Publishing Triangle presents ten awards annually, tied to a calendar year. Winners of our 2022 awards, honoring the best LGBTQ literature published in 2021, can be found here, or by clicking on the name of the award below. A full list of finalists can be found here. 

We present seven awards for the best books of the year. They are the Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction; the Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction; the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry; the Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry; the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction; the Publishing Triangle Award for Trans and Gender-Variant Literature; and, in conjunction our longtime partner the Ferro-Grumley Foundation, the Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBTQ Fiction. Each of the winners receives $1000.

In addition, we honor one LGBTQ author annually with the Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement (a $3000 prize) and we also present the Betty Berzon Emerging Writer Award ($1500).

Finally, we give out the Michele Karlsberg Leadership Award, which honors the contributions of those who are not writers to LGBTQ literature and letters ($500).

For many years, the Robert Chesley Playwriting Awards were also presented at our annual awards ceremony, and for historical purposes we maintain a list of winners.

The submissions period for awards is generally late September through early December—the specific dates vary each year. A call for submissions, including guidelines, instructions, and links to the online submission system, is posted on our website early in the fall. If you have questions about the awards program, please email [email protected].