The Publishing Triangle is proud to announce the winners of the 34th annual Triangle Awards, honoring the best LGBTQ fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and trans literature published in 2021.

The Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBTQ Fiction, presented with the Ferro-Grumley Literary Awards: Afterparties, by Anthony Veasna So (Ecco). Mr. So is the first posthumous winner of this award.

The Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction: The Prophets, by Robert Jones Jr. (G.P. Putnam’s Sons).

The Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry: Punks: New and Selected Poems, by John Keene (The Song Cave).

The Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry: Mama Phife Represents, by Cheryl Boyce Taylor (Haymarket Books).

The Publishing Triangle Award for Trans and Gender-Variant Literature: A Symmetry, by Ari Banias (W. W. Norton).

The Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction: Mouths of Rain: An Anthology of Black Lesbian Thought, edited by Briona Simone Jones (The New Press).

The Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction: Punch Me Up to the Gods, by Brian Broome (Mariner).

We congratulate the authors, publishers, and agents of these prize-worthy titles. We also salute the finalists in all seven categories, which can be found here.