The Publishing Triangle gave its first award for an emerging writer in the spring of 2017. This prize is presented to an LGBTQ+ writer who has shown exceptional talent and the potential for continued literary success and significance in the future.

Applicants must have published at least one but no more than two books, written in the discipline of fiction, nonfiction, or poetry. Works must be in the English language. Applicants must identify as a member of the LGBTQ+ community. And applicants must have shown exceptional talent in works written and published during the beginning of their writing career and demonstrate the potential for continued literary success and significance.

The submission process, which differs from our other awards, also takes place during the fall each year. During the submission period, information and the application are available on our website. There is a jury who evaluates all submissions and picks the winter; its members are selected by the Publishing Triangle awards committee.

This prize is given in honor of Betty Berzon (1928–2006), an author and psychotherapist renowned for her work with the LBGTQ+ community. It was previously administered under the auspices of the Lambda Literary Foundation. Berzon’s widow, Teresa DeCrescenzo, sponsors this award. The winner receives $1500.

Past winners are: 

2023 — Crisosto Apache
2022 — John Paul Brammer
2021 — Robert Fieseler
2020 — Oliver Baez Bendorf
2019 — Julian Randall
2018 — Sarah Perry
2017 — Chinelo Okparanta