On April 27, the Publishing Triangle partnered with the New School and the Ferro-Grumley Literary Awards to host the first live awards ceremony since 2019. The winners of four special awards and eight literary awards were announced.

Publishing Triangle Board member Emanuel Xavier hosted the awards ceremony which was livestreamed for the first time, and Board member David Groff spoke about the late Michael Denneny.

The winners of the literary awards were:

The Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry

Her Birth and Later Years: New and Collected Poems, 1971-2021, by Irena Klepfisz (Wesleyan University Press)

The Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry

Invisible History: The Collected Poems of Walta Borawski, by Philip Clark and Michael Bronski (Rebel Satori Press)

The Publishing Triangle Award for Trans and Gender-Variant Literature

Togetherness, by Wo Chan (Nightboat Books)

The Joseph Hansen Award for LGBTQ Crime Writing

Survivor’s Guilt, by Robyn Gigl (Kensington Books)

The Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction

Boy with the Bullhorn: A Memoir and History of ACT UP New York, by Ron Goldberg (Fordham University Press)

The Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction

Brown Neon, by Raquel Gutierrez (Coffee House Press)

The Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction

Arribada, by Estela Gonzalez (Cynren Books)

The Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBTQ Fiction

Didn’t Nobody Give a Shit What Happened to Carlotta, by James Hannaham (Little Brown & Co)

The Bureau of General Services/Queer Divison received The Michele Karlsberg Leadership Award. Greg Newton and Donnie Jochum stepped away from the table where they were selling books written by the finalists to take the stage and accept the award.

The inaugural Publishing Triangle Torchbearer Award was given to Drag Story Hour NYC. New York City Council Member Erik Bottcher presented the award.

Crisosto Apache was the winner of The Betty Berzon Emerging Writer Award.

Patrick Califia received The Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement. Although he was not able to be present, Califia prepared a video which was shared with the audience.