The Publishing Triangle is proud to announce the winners of the 32nd annual Triangle Awards, honoring the best LGBTQ fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and trans literature published in 2019. Prior to the pandemic, the winners were to be announced this evening at a ceremony to held at the New School in New York City.

The Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBTQ Fiction, presented with the Ferro-Grumley Literary Awards, goes to On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous, by Ocean Vuong (Penguin Press).

The Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction: Shut Up You’re Pretty, by Téa Mutonji (Arsenal Pulp Press).

The Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry: Company, by Sam Ross (Four Way Books).

The Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry: Odes to Lithium, by Shira Erlichman (Alice James Books).

The Publishing Triangle Award for Trans and Gender-Variant Literature: I Hope We Choose Love, by Kai Cheng Thom (Arsenal Pulp Press).

The Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction has a tie this year. The winners are In the Dream House, by Carmen Maria Machado (Graywolf Press) and Wayward Lives, Beautiful Experiments: Intimate Histories of Riotous Black Girls, Troublesome Women, and Queer Radicals, by Saidiya Hartman (W. W. Norton).

The Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction: How We Fight for Our Lives, by Saeed Jones (Simon & Schuster).

We congratulate the authors, publishers, and agents of these prize-worthy titles. We also salute the finalists in all seven categories, which can be found here.